All deadlines / FAQ
Mystery & crime writing contests: FAQ
Straight answers for mystery, crime and thriller writers, drawn from the 64 listings currently on the board. Every answer links to the checked listing.
Updated November 1, 2026.
Where can I find open mystery, crime and thriller submission calls, contests and deadlines?
CrimeCalls™ (crimecalls.com) is a deadline board just for mystery, crime and thriller writers. It lists 64 current opportunities: 19 contests, 8 awards for published work, 11 anthology calls, 8 magazines and 18 publishers taking novels. 26 are open anytime. Each listing shows the deadline, entry fee, pay or prize, word count and eligibility, links to the organizer’s official guidelines and shows the date we last checked it. Start at all deadlines, or browse contests, anthologies, magazines and novel publishers.
What crime, mystery and thriller writing deadlines are coming up?
Deadlines in the next 45 days (as of Nov 1, 2026), soonest first:
- MWA Barbara Neely Awards 2026 (Mystery Writers of America): deadline Nov 1, 2026; fee: Free; $2,000 + one-year MWA membership (two awards: unpublished and published)
- William F. Deeck–Malice Domestic Grant for Unpublished Writers (Malice Domestic Ltd): deadline Nov 1, 2026; fee: Free; $2,500 + full Malice Domestic registration + 2 hotel nights
- Stone's Throw – December 2026 prompt (Rock and a Hard Place Press): deadline Nov 4, 2026; fee: Free; $25 for the single story chosen
- Stitching Up Death (cozy anthology) (Camden Park Press): deadline Nov 15, 2026; fee: Free; Royalty share via PayPal
- Black Beacon Books – Lighthouses 2 (Black Beacon Books): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: Free; $30 + one print copy
- Minotaur Books / Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel (Minotaur Books & Malice Domestic): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: Free; $10,000 advance + Minotaur publishing contract
- Writory Thriller Writing Competition (round closing Nov 30, 2026) (Writory): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: $8 (two stories $14; five $25); 1st $100 + free entry to next round; 2nd $50; 3rd $20
- Edgar Awards 2027 (works published in 2026) (Mystery Writers of America): deadline Dec 7, 2026; fee: See MWA; Edgar Award (no cash)
- Uncharted Magazine Novel Excerpt Prize 2026 (Uncharted Magazine): deadline Dec 13, 2026; fee: $20 reading fee; Three co-winners each get $1,000 + publication + agent consult (Fuse Literary)
- Minotaur Books / MWA First Crime Novel Competition (Minotaur Books & Mystery Writers of America): deadline Dec 14, 2026; fee: Free; $10,000 advance + Minotaur publishing contract
- CWC Awards of Excellence 2027 (published works) (Crime Writers of Canada): deadline Dec 15, 2026; fee: CA$30–55 (novel $55, novella $40, short story $30; 20% member discount); CA$200–1,000 per category ($4,950 total)
- Ominous Thrill – Valentine's 2027 spicy horror/thriller (Ominous Thrill (audio fiction anthology)): deadline Dec 15, 2026; fee: Free; 5¢/word originals; 2¢/word reprints
- Secrets Worth Killing For (espionage crime anthology) (Crimson Gate Books (eds. Joe Goldberg & A.C. Frieden)): deadline Dec 15, 2026; fee: Free; Compensation set in the contributor agreement (amount not published)
See all deadlines for the full board, or get every deadline in one file with the $9 submission calendar.
Where can I find mystery short story contests?
These short story contests for mystery and crime writers are open now (all on the contests page):
- Next Generation Short Story Awards 2027 – Crime (ShortStoryAwards.com (Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group)): deadline Jan 28, 2027; fee: $25 ($20 each extra category); 1st $500, 2nd $300, 3rd $200 + medals; finalists $75
- Next Generation Short Story Awards 2027 – Mystery (Next Generation Short Story Awards): deadline Jan 28, 2027; fee: $25 first category; $20 each extra category; Grand prizes $500 / $300 / $200; category winners $75 + medal
- CWA Margery Allingham Short Mystery Competition 2027 (Crime Writers' Association & Margery Allingham Society): deadline Jan 29, 2027; fee: £25; £500 + one year CWA membership
- AHMM Mysterious Photograph Contest (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine): open anytime; fee: Free; $25 prize + publication
Many mystery magazines also run themed issues and reading windows.
Which crime fiction awards accept indie or self-published books?
Of the awards for published crime fiction on the board:
- CWC Awards of Excellence 2027 (published works) (Crime Writers of Canada): deadline Dec 15, 2026; fee: CA$30–55 (novel $55, novella $40, short story $30; 20% member discount); CA$200–1,000 per category ($4,950 total) — Crime Writers of Canada’s rules say self-published works are eligible (authors must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents).
- Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award 2027 (Killer Nashville): deadline Apr 1, 2027; fee: $112 (free with a 4-day conference registration); Award recognition — for books published in 2026; the entry page we checked sets no publisher requirement, so ask Killer Nashville to confirm for your book.
- Edgar Awards 2027 (works published in 2026) (Mystery Writers of America): deadline Dec 7, 2026; fee: See MWA; Edgar Award (no cash) — not for indie authors: MWA says self-published work is not eligible; publishers on MWA’s approved list submit.
Note that first-novel contests such as the Minotaur competitions count a self-published novel as “published”, so it can make you ineligible.
Which crime fiction and mystery contests have no entry fee?
These contests and awards charged no entry fee when we last checked:
- MWA Barbara Neely Awards 2026 (Mystery Writers of America): deadline Nov 1, 2026; fee: Free; $2,000 + one-year MWA membership (two awards: unpublished and published)
- William F. Deeck–Malice Domestic Grant for Unpublished Writers (Malice Domestic Ltd): deadline Nov 1, 2026; fee: Free; $2,500 + full Malice Domestic registration + 2 hotel nights
- Minotaur Books / Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel (Minotaur Books & Malice Domestic): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: Free; $10,000 advance + Minotaur publishing contract
- Minotaur Books / MWA First Crime Novel Competition (Minotaur Books & Mystery Writers of America): deadline Dec 14, 2026; fee: Free; $10,000 advance + Minotaur publishing contract
- SinC Eleanor Taylor Bland Crime Fiction Writers of Color Award 2027 (Sisters in Crime): deadline Mar 31, 2027; fee: Free; $2,000 grant
- Al Blanchard Award 2027 (New England Crime Bake): deadline Apr 30, 2027; fee: Free; $100 + publication in Best New England Crime Stories + Crime Bake admission
- SinC Pride Award for Emerging LGBTQIA+ Crime Writers 2027 (Sisters in Crime): deadline Jul 31, 2027; fee: Free; Award (amount not stated on the award page)
- AHMM Mysterious Photograph Contest (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine): open anytime; fee: Free; $25 prize + publication
See every no-fee magazine, anthology and publisher on the no-fee page. Fees can change, so confirm on the official page.
Which thriller, mystery and crime publishers accept unagented submissions?
These publishers say outright that they accept unagented submissions:
- Bookouture – Crime, Thriller & Cozy (Bookouture (Hachette UK)): open anytime; fee: Free; Digital-first royalties
- Crooked Lane Books (Crooked Lane Books): open anytime; fee: Free; Advance + royalties (terms not published)
- Harlequin Intrigue (Harlequin (HarperCollins)): open anytime; fee: Free; Advance + royalties (category romance contract)
- Inkubator Books (Inkubator Books): open anytime; fee: Free; 45% of net receipts
- Level Best Books – Novel Submissions (Level Best Books): open anytime; fee: Free; Royalties (terms not published)
- Love Inspired Suspense (Harlequin (HarperCollins)): open anytime; fee: Free; Advance + royalties (category contract)
- Storm Publishing – Crime, Thriller & Mystery (Storm Publishing): open anytime; fee: Free; No advance; 50% of net digital receipts
- Thriller Magazine Press (Thriller Media LLC): open anytime; fee: $9.99 (includes personalized feedback); $300 advance + 33% net royalties
These take manuscripts or queries directly from authors through their own guidelines:
- Blue Beech Press – Murder Mysteries (Blue Beech Press): open anytime; fee: Free; Royalty share, no advance
- Close To The Bone – Press (Close To The Bone): open anytime; fee: Free; Case-by-case contracts
- Crimson Gate Books – Crime Novel Submissions (Crimson Gate Books): open anytime; fee: Free; Terms on offer
- Down & Out Books (Down & Out Books): open anytime; fee: Free; Terms on offer
- Dundurn Press – Mystery & Thriller (Dundurn Press): open anytime; fee: Free; Terms on offer
- Hera Books (Hera Books (sister of Canelo)): open anytime; fee: Free; Royalties on net receipts
- Joffe Books (Joffe Books): open anytime; fee: Free; Terms on offer
- Lyrical Press (Kensington) (Kensington Publishing): open anytime; fee: Free; Terms on offer
- Severn House (Joffe Books imprint) (Severn House / Joffe Books): open anytime; fee: Free; Terms on offer
- The Wild Rose Press – Crimson Rose (mystery & thriller) (The Wild Rose Press): open anytime; fee: Free; Royalties (no fees to authors)
All of them are on the publishers page.
Are there contests for unpublished crime or mystery novels?
Yes. Novel and manuscript contests open now:
- MWA Barbara Neely Awards 2026 (Mystery Writers of America): deadline Nov 1, 2026; fee: Free; $2,000 + one-year MWA membership (two awards: unpublished and published)
- William F. Deeck–Malice Domestic Grant for Unpublished Writers (Malice Domestic Ltd): deadline Nov 1, 2026; fee: Free; $2,500 + full Malice Domestic registration + 2 hotel nights
- Minotaur Books / Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel (Minotaur Books & Malice Domestic): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: Free; $10,000 advance + Minotaur publishing contract
- Writory Thriller Writing Competition (round closing Nov 30, 2026) (Writory): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: $8 (two stories $14; five $25); 1st $100 + free entry to next round; 2nd $50; 3rd $20
- Uncharted Magazine Novel Excerpt Prize 2026 (Uncharted Magazine): deadline Dec 13, 2026; fee: $20 reading fee; Three co-winners each get $1,000 + publication + agent consult (Fuse Literary)
- Minotaur Books / MWA First Crime Novel Competition (Minotaur Books & Mystery Writers of America): deadline Dec 14, 2026; fee: Free; $10,000 advance + Minotaur publishing contract
- CWA Emerging Author Dagger 2027 (Crime Writers' Association (sponsor: Fiction Feedback)): deadline Jan 29, 2027; fee: £42; £500; shortlist sent to agents and publishers
- Agatha Christie Award (17th, Hayakawa Publishing – Japanese-language) (Hayakawa Publishing & Hayakawa Kiyoshi Literary Foundation): deadline Feb 28, 2027; fee: No entry fee stated on the official page; ¥1,000,000 + Christie-themed plaque; winner published in book form by Hayakawa
- Shincho Mystery Grand Prize (14th, Shinchosha – Japanese-language) (Shinchosha (supported by Toei)): deadline Mar 31, 2027; fee: No entry fee stated on the official page; ¥3,000,000 for the grand prize
- SinC Eleanor Taylor Bland Crime Fiction Writers of Color Award 2027 (Sisters in Crime): deadline Mar 31, 2027; fee: Free; $2,000 grant
- Killer Nashville Claymore Award 2027 (Killer Nashville): deadline Apr 1, 2027; fee: $77; Recognition, agent/editor exposure (no cash amount stated)
- The Crime List 2027 (Rebel Seed Studio): deadline Apr 18, 2027; fee: $35 by Nov 22, 2026, rising to $85 at the closing deadline; $3,500 to one winner
- Al Blanchard Award 2027 (New England Crime Bake): deadline Apr 30, 2027; fee: Free; $100 + publication in Best New England Crime Stories + Crime Bake admission
- SinC Pride Award for Emerging LGBTQIA+ Crime Writers 2027 (Sisters in Crime): deadline Jul 31, 2027; fee: Free; Award (amount not stated on the award page)
Which magazines accept mystery and crime short stories?
Magazines on the board taking mystery, crime and noir short fiction:
- Stone's Throw – December 2026 prompt (Rock and a Hard Place Press): deadline Nov 4, 2026; fee: Free; $25 for the single story chosen
- Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine (1 Paragraph, Inc.): open anytime; fee: Free; Paid (rate not stated on guidelines page)
- Cold Caller (Cold Caller Magazine (Substack)): open anytime; fee: Free; $125 flat per story
- Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine (Must Read Books Publishing): open anytime; fee: Free; 6–8¢/word (fiction); $25–50 per poem; 7¢/word nonfiction
- Guilty Crime Story Magazine – Flash Series (Guilty Crime Story Magazine): open anytime; fee: Free; Unpaid (web flash). Print magazine pays $10 but print is currently CLOSED
- Mystery Tribune (Mystery Tribune): open anytime; fee: Free; Honorarium for print-edition fiction (amount discussed on acceptance); web/flash unpaid
- The Strand Magazine (The Strand Magazine): open anytime; fee: Free; $100–150 per story
- Uncharted Magazine – Thriller & Mystery (Uncharted Magazine): open anytime; fee: Free (optional paid editorial feedback); $200 for original fiction
See the magazines page for word counts and pay.
Where can I submit to crime fiction anthologies?
Open anthology calls:
- Stitching Up Death (cozy anthology) (Camden Park Press): deadline Nov 15, 2026; fee: Free; Royalty share via PayPal
- Black Beacon Books – Lighthouses 2 (Black Beacon Books): deadline Nov 30, 2026; fee: Free; $30 + one print copy
- Ominous Thrill – Valentine's 2027 spicy horror/thriller (Ominous Thrill (audio fiction anthology)): deadline Dec 15, 2026; fee: Free; 5¢/word originals; 2¢/word reprints
- Secrets Worth Killing For (espionage crime anthology) (Crimson Gate Books (eds. Joe Goldberg & A.C. Frieden)): deadline Dec 15, 2026; fee: Free; Compensation set in the contributor agreement (amount not published)
- Behind the Tape: Urban Crime Thriller Stories (Twisted Dreams Press): deadline Dec 31, 2026; fee: Free; One digital contributor copy (author-copy discount)
- Crime Without Corpses (Level Best Books (ed. Gabriel Valjan)): deadline Dec 31, 2026; fee: Free; $25–50 (depends on number of stories chosen)
- Dirty Martini: Fem Horror Noir Anthology (Grimalkin Press): deadline Dec 31, 2026; fee: Free; 8¢/word + 1 print copy (US) or ebook (outside US)
- SinC Desert Sleuths 2027 Anthology – SOWEST: Extreme Elements (Sisters in Crime Desert Sleuths Chapter): deadline Jan 8, 2027; fee: Free (chapter membership required); $25 or two print copies
- Lone Star Lawbreakers (SinC North Dallas Anthology Vol. 6) (Sisters in Crime North Dallas): deadline Jan 31, 2027; fee: None stated (SinC + SinC North Dallas membership required); No author pay stated; any advances and royalties accrue to the chapter
- The Fifth Black Beacon Book of Mystery (Black Beacon Books): deadline Feb 28, 2027; fee: Free; $30 + one print copy
- The Killing Spree (Dragon Soul Press anthology) (Dragon Soul Press): deadline Mar 31, 2027; fee: None stated; 30% royalties for the first year from publication (per the publisher's guidelines checklist)
What does the $9 CrimeCalls Submission Calendar include?
Yes. The 2026–27 Crime Writer Submission Calendar costs $9 (one-time). It puts every current CrimeCalls listing (64 as of Nov 1, 2026) into a printable PDF organized month by month: 38 dated deadlines and 26 open-anytime markets. Each entry shows the entry fee, pay or prize, word count, who can enter, the official link and the date we checked it. It also includes a CSV spreadsheet and an ICS file that adds the 38 dated deadlines to Google Calendar, Apple Calendar or Outlook with a reminder a week before each one. The board itself stays open to browse at crimecalls.com.
Who runs CrimeCalls?
CrimeCalls™ is published by Continuing Education And Training, LLC, 500 Westover Drive, Suite 17707, Sanford, NC 27330. Contact: [email protected]. How we choose and check listings is set out in our editorial standards.
How do I list or feature a contest or call for submissions on CrimeCalls?
Email [email protected] with the name, the official guidelines link, the deadline, the entry fee and the pay or prize (details on Add a listing). Standard listings are added as a courtesy after we check them against the official page. To be pinned at the top with a “Featured” label until your deadline, buy a featured listing on the advertise page: $39 at the founding rate for the first 10 sponsors, then $99. Paid placement never skips the check.
How are CrimeCalls listings checked, and how often is it updated?
Each listing is checked by hand against the organizer’s official guidelines page, links to it, and shows its last-checked date. Listings were last checked October 30, 2026. Past deadlines drop off automatically. We leave out pay-to-publish and vanity schemes and calls we can’t trace to a published source page, and paid placements are always labelled. Full details: editorial standards. Always confirm details with the organizer before you submit or pay a fee.
More in-depth answers: guides for mystery and crime writers.
Answers are generated from the current listings every time the board is rebuilt. Page updated November 1, 2026; listings last checked October 30, 2026.